in
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Monday, August 24, 2015

RFTC Back to School Event with Jen McLaughlin


Jen McLaughlin is the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of sexy books with Penguin Random House. Under her pen name, Diane Alberts, she is also a USA TODAY bestselling author of Contemporary Romance with Entangled Publishing. Her first release as Jen McLaughlin, Out of Line, hit the New York Times, USA TODAY and Wall Street Journal lists. She was mentioned in Forbes alongside E. L. James as one of the breakout independent authors to dominate the bestselling lists. She is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency.

Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal-clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, and four cats. Her goal is to write so many well-crafted romance books that even a non-romance reader will know her name.

Site Blog | Facebook Twitter |

Hello everyone!

I’m Jackson Worthington, and I’m from a book that’s written by Jen McLaughlin called BAD ROMANCE. It’s that time of year. When all the parents drag pouting children to the store to pick out backpacks, binders, clothes, and sneakers. There’s nothing like the sight of overwrought parents juggling four kids and bickering children to remind a person…

It’s back to school time.

I’ve never been one for school, or teachers, and I don’t have kids…yet. But I’m supposed to come here and talk about going back to school.

Instead, being the rebel that I am, I thought it would be fun to give you a sneak peek to my book, in a chapter from my point of view.

A little fun reading to prepare you for all that homework, crying, and packing lunches.

Here you go!

XOXO,
Jackson

I might only be twenty-five, but I wasn’t waxing poetic when I said I’ve been through hell and back and seen it all. Literally. Twice. I’ve seen death, life, murder, pain, anger, hatred, and joy. Not much of the last one, but I’ve seen it. I just hadn’t really experienced it. But whatever. I wasn’t the type to cry over the life I’ve been handed.

You lived. You fucked. You died. The end.

Next story.

In the end, no one really gave a damn about you once you were gone. That was why I lived life for today, instead of planning for tomorrow. It was also why I didn’t give a damn about anyone or anything, because in the end they wouldn’t give a damn about me. That was a lesson I learned before I was eleven. I made sure not to care about anyone enough to let them hurt me, because that was how the world treated me. That was the way I’d lived my life for the last twenty-five years, and it was the way I always would....

With one exception.

But that hadn’t exactly worked out so well for me.

My gaze fell on the blonde dancing on the floor with an abandon for life that I didn’t quite grasp, and never had. My unquenchable interest in the blonde dancing seductively in the crowd didn’t make much sense. The feelings she stirred inside me went deeper than lust, as if I somehow knew her, or should. I didn’t know how deep those feelings went, and I had no intention of finding out, but still. It was there.

Maybe it was because I’ve avoided people in general since coming home—women in particular. Not because I was nervous or any shit like that. Hitting on a gorgeous woman never intimidated me, for the most part. It was just that I was focused on trying to re-accustom myself to civilian life, and I didn’t want to drag another person into the shitstorm that my life was right now. But I spotted this woman when I walked through the door, and I hadn’t been able to take my eyes off her since.

My reaction to her had been fast and swift.

I was so fully isolated that no one in my family even knew I was Stateside, and I hadn’t been back long, but the second I saw this woman, I knew she had to come home with me tonight. Screw isolation. I’d rather screw her. I could easily lose myself in her arms for an hour or two. Her soft curves and long, wavy blond hair teased me and made me feel alive for the first time in God knows how long. It looked unbelievably soft, and my fingers itched with the desire to see if I was right. If it was as soft as it seemed.

It was time to find out.

Smoothing my shirt, I stood up and took a step toward her. But she turned around, and I prepared myself for my first full view of her—shit. That wasn’t a hot blonde I could take home, give a few orgasms to, and forget. She wasn’t even a light flirtation I could indulge in.

No, she was my little stepsister. Lilly Hastings.

The one whom I’d kissed seven years ago, and then never saw again. Only she wasn’t so little anymore. And she was even more drop-dead gorgeous.

She’d always been on my mind, thanks to her letters she’d sent, but I never spoke to her again after that night. I think, in a way, I was ashamed of how things ended. Of the way we’d kissed and then gotten caught. I never even checked in with her to see if she got in trouble after I left. If she’d been okay. And that was just shitty.

Did she hate me now? She should. I deserved it.

I forced myself to stand still. To not approach her, or flee.

We had nothing in common. Not anymore. She didn’t know what it was like to sweat in a desert for years, or to watch your buddies get blown to pieces. She didn’t know what loss and pain felt like. She didn’t know me.

Not anymore.

So I sat the hell back down on my stool.



In this explosive novel from bestselling author Jen McLaughlin, a good girl falls for the ultimate bad boy: her stepbrother. Perfect for fans of Sabrina Paige, Caitlin Daire, and Krista Lakes, Bad Romance proves that passion can be so wrong it’s right.

Seven years in the army will change a guy. But after a shoulder wound ends his career as a sniper, Jackson Worthington finds himself back home, fighting a battle that’s all too familiar: keeping his hands off Lily Hastings. She’s still her rich daddy’s little angel, innocent, impossibly lovely, as squeaky-clean as Jackson is dirty. And she’s still his stepsister—forbidden but not forgotten, not after the soul-melting kiss that got him kicked out of the house at eighteen. He couldn’t resist her then. How the hell can he resist her now?

Lily is about to marry a man she doesn’t love, and commit to a high-stress job she hates, all to please the father who controls every waking moment of her life. On top of everything, her teenage crush is back, with a sleek, chiseled body and a trace of the rebellious boy whose lips sealed her fate. Jackson’s timing couldn’t be worse . . . or better. Because Lily’s all grown up, too. She’s aching for another taste. And for the first time, she’s ready to be a bad girl.

Purchase: | Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo |
 Check out what's up for grabs.

Up For Grabs:
  • 1 eBook of Choice from Jen McLaughlin or Diane Albert's Backlist

To Enter: 
  • Please fill out the Rafflecopter form to enter giveaway.

**Don't forget to enter the grand prize giveaway!


Good Luck! 

Special thanks to Jen McLaughlin for sponsoring this giveaway.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

12 comments :

  1. Ooh, this book sounds delicious!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Congrats to Jen on her new release!! This looks and sounds fabulous ;) thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for the post, this sounds perfect for me. Oh and I watched your video (not live unfortunately) on facebook and you did a great job for your first time, it was fun! :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Congrats on your new book! I really liked the excerpt and blurb. Lily writing letters to him while he was deployed shows to me that she really wanted to keep in contact and cared etc.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks everyone!!!

    KRG- I plan on doing them every Friday!

    ReplyDelete
  6. The book sounds great, Jen! I'm looking forward to hearing more from Jackson. ;-)

    Marcy Shuler

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sounds good. Also love the cover! :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Awesome author! Can't wait to read this one! :-)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Love the blurb, can't wait to read it.

    ReplyDelete