Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Monday, July 14, 2014

ARC Review: Night's End by Yasmine Galenorn

Cicely, Queen of Snow and Ice and Rhiannon, Queen of Rivers and Rushes are cousins. They keep the balance between fire and ice. Both of them are locked in battle with Cicely’s mother, Myst, Queen of the Indigo Court. Cicely is half magic, a wind witch, and half Uwilahsidhe meaning she can transform into an owl. Her husband, Grieve, can shape shift into a wolf. Cicely has a wolf tattoo and feels his emotions through it. Myst’s Shadow Hunters are killing innocents and attacking Cicely’s allies. A spy has infiltrated Cicely’s ranks. As a result, all closest to her must undergo a mind torture, even Grieve. Her paternal grandfather, Hunter, shows up to help and offers to teach her more about her powers. The vampires must be coddled as well. Lannan saved Cicely’s life and has a blood lust for her now. Luna is possessed by a crazy ancestor. Kaylin has transformed into a demon. Cicely must pool all of her resources and keep them under control to defeat Myst. The Snow Hag reminds her she has the power of memory. Use it to find Myst’s heartstone, the key to her immortality. Cicely travels back in time to her childhood and watches the ceremony. Now she has to remember where it is hidden and get to it before Myst does.

Cicely is a brave and conflicted queen. Her loyalty to her mother is gone, but she still feels a small bond. Killing her is necessary and Cicely takes the task on herself. Grieve is noble and has given up much to be her consort. They are a strong couple and make an excellent team. The other couple in the book is the siblings, Lannan and Regina. They are vampires, have powers, and are attracted to Cicely. How much are they willing to risk for a reward?

There is a Laurell K. Hamilton vibe to this book. Merry Gentry deals with competing men and paranormal beings, she is also a queen in waiting. There is a guide to the secondary characters and their relationship to Cicely at the end of the book.

This is the fifth book in the series. There is a lot of history and conflicts between the characters so the books should be read in order.

**ARC provided by Publisher**

Purchase: | Amazon | Kindle | B&N |